A Bagful of Almonds – II – Almond Butter

So, this is going to be part II of  my adventures with, you guessed it, a bagful of almonds. Oh Yes.

Now, I love a good nut butter. Don’t get me wrong, I am absolutely and entirely and irrevocably in love with butter – never have done anything in moderation – but lets face it you can’t really get away with eating mountains of the stuff. Sigh. Slightly lactose intolerant in my old age, ahem, and also slight heart-scare recently. So all in all perfect time to look at alternatives that are delicious *and* good for you. And this is where nut butters come in. They are really really good for you. Good fat. Good protein. Lots of vitamins. And yummy. You can’t really go wrong with a good nut butter.

So of course almond butter is my favourite. I go through quite a lot of this stuff every week. And it ain’t cheap. Now since I had all these lovely almonds sitting there in a jar, I thought hey, maybe I should make some almond butter. And you know what, I did B-).

Again, you are going to need a powerful blender for this. I used the NutriBullet, obviously. Technically speaking you could, of course, make almond butter in a mortar & pestle, because essentially all you are doing is grinding the nuts up till they they emulsify into a sort of paste. So if you have the time, a big enough mortar & pestle, and very strong arm muscles, go for it!

Here:

Ingredients:

1 cup of almonds.

1 or 2 tablespoons of coconut oil.

Drizzle of honey (optional).

Method:

First of all what you need to do is put your almonds in to the blend and grind them up into a flour. If you’re using the NutriBullet, for this you’ll have to use the milling blade. That done, add the coconut oil (and honey, if using), and blend – this time using the extractor blade. That basically is it Within minutes you’ve got yourself the most amazing jar of homemade Almond Butter. #Win, I’d say.

 

image

Leave a Reply

